## Nephrology Division Newsletter July-August 2008

## Welcome! Announcements

- Dr. Chi-yuan Hsu, Associate Professor in Residence, was named permanent Chief of the Nephrology Division at UCSF (Parnassus/Mt Zion). The official announcement was made to the Division by Dr. Talmadge King, Chair of the Department of Medicine, on Wednesday, June 25<sup>th</sup>. Dr. Hsu, who came to UCSF in 1999, has been interim Chief for the past academic year. He is a graduate of Yale College, Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Public Health. He did his Internal Medicine Residency at Beth Israel Hospital (Boston) and Nephrology Fellowship at the Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Hsu's research focuses on the epidemiology and complications of chronic kidney disease.
- Honoré Pedigo has joined the Division as our new Administrative Assistant. She will be taking over the duties previously handled by Lynn Prudencio. Please join us in welcoming Honoré to the Division.
- At the end of August, Dr. Manju Tamura will be leaving UCSF. She has been recruited to a wonderful opportunity at Stanford/Palo Alto VA. Please extend her our congratulations.



## Fellowship Program

Congratulations once again to our recently graduated fellows- we wish you well. Below is a picture from the graduation celebration which took place on Wednesday June 25. Graduation was again hosted by Dr. Kerry Cho with light-hearted pictures of the graduating fellows. All fellows' diplomas came with custom framing.



Pictured at the UCSF Nephrology Fellow Graduation Ceremony are (from left) Drs. David Lovett, Chi-yuan Hsu, Brian Lee, Christopher Keller, Sharon Kang, David Pearce, Carmen Peralta, Kerry Cho, Thanh Nguyen and Jesse Qian.

- Meanwhile, our new fellows arrived July 1, 2008. Please help us welcome them to the program.
  - Muna Al Nimri, MBBS (renal transplant fellow)
  - o Ruth Dubin, MD
  - o Peter Lee. MD
  - Delphine Tuot, MD CM
  - David Wojciechowski, DO (renal transplant fellow)



## Accomplishments and Awards

- Dr. Denise Marciano is the recipient of the National Kidney Foundation Young Investigator's Award. She was also recently notified that she has been awarded a K08 career development award from the NIDDK.
- Dr. David Pearce received the American Society of Nephrology's New Directions Award. The grant is given to provide seed money for high impact novel directions in established investigators' labs. Dr. Pearce is currently exploring the novel aldosterone-regulated gene, GILZ.
- ❖ Jessica Serbus and Marienna Murch received the School of Medicine Staff Achievement and Recognition (STAR) awards from the Department of Medicine. This program empowers supervisors and managers with robust tools for rewarding and honoring staff efforts.

❖ Drs. Julie Yabu, Chris Keller and Kerry Cho were nominated for the 2008 UCSF Kaiser Award for Excellence in Teaching in the Classroom Setting award. Dr. Yabu was commended by students for her "warm and patient demeanor [that] provided a great learning environment" as well as her ability to explain difficult concepts to the students using her clinical experience. Former fellow Dr. Keller was commended by students for his "enthusiasm for nephrology and actual experience with material being taught." And lastly, Dr. Cho was commended by the students for his enthusiasm for the concepts covered in renal sessions, his "complete mastery of lectureship" and his warm, knowledgeable and laid-back demeanor.

Congratulations to all of our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.