## Nephrology Division Newsletter November- December 2008



## <u>Announcements</u>

Chi and Sandy Hsu would like to invite you to the Division of Nephrology Holiday Party to be held December 7<sup>th</sup> from 5:00-8:00pm at the UCSF Faculty Alumni House.

Where: UCSF Faculty/Alumni House, 745 Parnassus Avenue When: Sunday, December 7<sup>th</sup> Time: 5:00pm-8:00pm

- The Division office will be closed on the following dates, which are University holidays:
  - November 27-28, Thanksgiving Holiday
  - December 25-26, Winter Holiday
  - December 31-January 1, New Year's Holiday



## Accomplishments and Awards

- Kaiser Permanente of North California and UCSF have recently been selected by NIH to form one of three clinical centers around the county to form consortium studying the Natural History of Acute Kidney Injury (<u>http://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/rfa-files/RFA-DK-07-009.html</u>). Dr. Chi-yuan Hsu is the co-PI and Dr. Kathleen Liu is a co-investigator for this U01 grant which is headed by Dr. Alan Go from Kaiser (overall PI).
- Congratulations to Dr. Lynda Frassetto whose recent proposal to the UCSF Resource Allocation Program (RAP) General Pilot Award in HIV/AIDS has been selected for funding. The proposal title is "Raltegravir –Transplant Immunosuppressant Interactions: Predicting the Unexpected."
- Congratulations to Dr. Chi-yuan Hsu who was recently awarded a R21 from the NIDDK titled: "Composition of proteinuria and progression of chronic kidney disease."
- Dr. Kirsten Johansen recently received funding for a supplemental contract entitled "USRDS Special Studies Centers Nutrition/Malnutrition." In addition to her office space at the SFVAMC, Dr. Johansen will also spend part of her time in UCSF Division of Nephrology research office space at Laurel Heights.
- Dr. Anitha Toke was recently appointed Chair of Medical Advisory Board of National Kidney Foundation of Northern California for the 2008-2009 year.
- Drs. Kirsten Johansen and Kathleen Liu are both serving on the NKF 2009 Spring Clinical Meetings Program Committee. Dr. Johansen is the Program Co-Chair.
- Dr. Steve Tomlanovich is a member of the American Transplant Congress 2009 Joint Executive committee. Congratulations to all of our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.