Nephrology Division Newsletter





Announcements

- Dr. Kathleen Liu has been invited to be an Associate Editor for ASN NephSAP (Nephrology Self-Assessment Program), responsible for the issue "Acute kidney injury and critical care nephrology."
- Dr. David Pearce joined the Scientific Advisory Board of Intellikine, Inc, a biotechnology start-up in La Jolla, CA.
- ❖ Dr. Carmen Peralta has 2 recent first author publications: Peralta et al. "Differences in Albuminuria between Hispanics and Whites: An Evaluation by Genetic Ancestry and Country of Origin: The Multi-Ethnic Study of Atherosclerosis." Circ Cardiovasc Genet. 2010 Jun 1;3:240-247 and Peralta et al. "Race Differences in Prevalence of chronic kidney disease among young adults using creatinine based GFR-estimating equations. Nephrol Dial Transplant. 2010 Jun 2. [Epub ahead of print]
- ❖ A Grand Opening was held for the "Connie Frank Transplant Center" on Saturday, May 22, 2010. The new transplant center is located on the 7th floor of the ACC Building, 400 Parnassus Avenue. Drs. Brian Lee, Stephen Tomlanovich, Allison Webber, and David Wojciechowski have moved their academic office to the new space.



Fellowship Program

- Our fellows' graduation will be held at 8am June 30th 2010 in Room N729. Please come and participate in the graduation of Drs. Nisha Bansal, Peter Lee, Maha Mohamed (transplant fellow) and Puneet Sood (transplant fellow).
- New fellows starting their ACGME training July 1st 2010 will be:
 - Dr. Brad Butcher
 - Dr. Chenyin He
 - Dr. Sourabh Kharait
 - Dr. Grace No
 - Dr. Julie Ishida

We also have two new transplant fellows:

- Dr. Ranjan Chandra
- Dr. Sindhu Chandran

Our returning fellows are:

- Dr. Cvnthia Delgado (4th vear)
- Dr. Ruth Dubin (3rd year)
- Dr. Raeeda Gheewala (2nd year)
- Dr. Raymond Hsu (2nd year)
- Dr. Atif Kidwai (2nd year)
- Dr. Andy Lin (2nd year)
- Dr. Neetu Malhotra (2nd year)
- Dr. Meyeon Park (2nd year)

Dr. Kajal Rao (2nd year) Dr. Delphine Tuot (3rd year)

- ❖ Dr. Meyeon Park has recently published a paper based on work she did as a resident: Park et al "Prevention and treatment of acute kidney injury in patients undergoing cardiac surgery: a systematic review." Am J Nephrol. 2010;31(5):408-18
- At the March 2010 Renal Physicians Association annual meeting in Baltimore, Dr. Christopher Keller, a renal fellow at UCSF from 2006-2008, accepted the 2010 Exemplary Practice award from the RPA on behalf of his practice, the Boise Kidney and Hypertension Institute of Meridian, ID (http://www.boisekidney.com/pdf/PR/release_RPA-Exemplary-Practice.pdf). Dr. Keller was also invited to conduct a workshop titled "Managing an Effective CKD Clinic" at that meeting.



Accomplishments and Awards

- Congratulations to **Dr. Nisha Bansal** who was awarded both a KL2 and K23. She will turn down the former to accept the latter. One of the reviewers of her grant wrote "This is the best K23 grant application I have ever read." Dr. Bansal will join the faculty as Assistant Professor starting June 21, 2010.
- Dr. Alan Verkman successfully renewed his P30 (DK072517): "Novel small-molecule therapies for cystic fibrosis."
- ❖ Dr. Andy Choi was invited to be an ad hoc member of the NIH Study Section "Kidney, Nutrition, Obesity, Diabetes" (KNOD).
- The investiture ceremony for the Deborah Faiman Endowed Chair in Kidney Transplantation was held on April 19, 2010 in the Lange Room at UCSF Parnassus Heights Campus where Dr. Flavio Vincenti was honored. Dr. Vincenti received a handwritten note from our new Chancellor, Dr. Susan Desmond-Hellman, saying it gave her particular pleasure to sign off on it as Flavio was her attending on the KTU in the 1970s.

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.