November - December 2011



Announcements

- The latest (9th) edition of Brenner and Rector's The Kidney textbook has just been published. Dr. Berry Brenner was formerly Chief of Nephrology at SFVAMC and Dr. Floyd Rector was formerly Chief of Nephrology at Moffitt. Current UCSF faculty members who contributed chapters included Dr. Chi-yuan Hsu ("Epidemiology of Kidney Disease"), Dr. David Pearce ("Aldosterone Regulation of Ion Transport"), Dr. Carmen Peralta ("Health Disparities in Nephrology"), and Dr. Neil Powe ("Health Disparities in Nephrology").
- Kathleen Liu, MD, PhD co-authored a chapter titled "Dialysis in the treatment of renal failure" in the 18th Edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, published earlier in 2011.
- Michael Humphreys, MD participated in an FDA Advisory Committee meeting in December which reviewed and approved a new ESA, peginesatide, for treatment of anemia in dialysis patients.
- Michael Humphreys, MD also served on a VA Nephrology study section which met on December 8, 2011
- Dr. Delphine Tuot is the first author of an invited commentary in KI: "What patients don't know may hurt them: knowledge and the perception of knowledge among patients with CKD."



Fellowship Program

 Our fellowship program director, **Dr. Kerry Cho**, has been elected to Fellowship in the American College of Physicians.



Accomplishments and Awards

- Alan Verkman, MD, PhD recently renewed his R01 DK035124 "Mechanisms of water transport in renal epithelia" which was first funded in 1986. Since 2010, Dr. Verkman has received competitive funding from a P30 (DK72517) and a MERIT (R37 EB00415) as well as 5 sponsored research agreement/grants from industry and private foundations. His NIH research support also includes R01 EY13574, R01 HL73856 and RC1 DK86125. Over the same time period, Dr. Verkman has published over 20 first- or senior-author original research papers and submitted 5 new patent applications, including one regarding new small-molecule therapies for polycystic kidney disease.
- Dr. Vanessa Grubbs received the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program Award.

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.