## November - December 2012



## Announcements

- The renewal application for the UCSF Nephrology T32 training grant, which is currently in its 36<sup>th</sup> year of funding (PI David Lovett), received a perfect score of 10.
- Dr. David Wojciechowski was invited by the journal Transplantation to give a video introduction (http://journals.lww.com/transplantjournal/Pages/ videogallery.aspx?videoId=28&autoPlay=true) to his paper "Ciprofloxacin prophylaxis in kidney transplant recipients reduces BK virus infection at 3 months but not at 1 year" which is scheduled for published Dec 15<sup>th</sup> 2012. Co-authors are R Chanda, S Chandran, B Lee, A Webber, M Macaraig, S Tomlanovich and F Vincenti.



## Fellowship Program

- Kamyar Kalantar-Zadeh, MD, PhD, who graduated from the UCSF Nephrology fellowship program in 2000, recently become Chief of the Division of Nephrology at UC Irvine.
- Elaine Ku, MD was selected to become the 2012 recipient of the <u>"Andy I. Choi,</u> <u>MD Memorial Scholarship."</u> This scholarship was established last year in memory of Andy Choi, who first came to UCSF in 2004 as a renal fellow. This annual scholarship supports fellow travel to a scientific meeting devoted to kidney disease or HIV, two of Andy's research passions. Criteria for selection include: academic promise as well as embodiment of kindness and generosity which we all so appreciated in Andy.
- Dr. Vasantha Jotwani had the following first-author original investigation publication: Jotwani V, Li Y, Grunfeld C, Choi AI, Shlipak MG. Risk factors for ESRD in HIV-infected individuals: traditional and HIV-related factors. Am J Kidney Dis. 2012; 59:628-635.



## Accomplishments and Awards

- Dr. Carmen Peralta was awarded the Robert Wood Johnson Young Leader Award. The RWJF selected 10 young leaders out of over 850 nominations to recognize young persons who are successfully working on strategies to improve the health of all Americans. Dr. Peralta attended the 40<sup>th</sup> year celebration of the RWJF in Princeton, NJ to receive the award.
- David Pearce, MD gave the Second Annual Dale J. Benos Memorial Lecture at the University of Alabama, Birmingham, November, 2012. This endowed lectureship was initiated in memory of renowned epithelial ion transport physiologist Dale Benos, and is used to bring leaders in epithelial biology to UAB as visiting Professors.

- Dr. Nisha Bansal was selected to be a member of the ASN CKD Advisory Group.
- Dr. Nisha Bansal was the recipient of a Department of Medicine Cohort Grant to create longitudinal cohort of adult and kidney transplant recipients at UCSF.

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.