## Nephrology Division Newsletter March - April 2013



## **Announcements**

- Dr. Brian Lee has acquired a Specialist in Clinical Hypertension Certification from the American Society of Hypertension.
- Chi-yuan Hsu, MD has joined the Editorial Board of Kidney International.
- Kathleen Liu, MD, PhD became Associate Editor for Advances in Chronic Kidney Disease. She also recently served as an ad hoc member of a study section ZRG1 GGG-R(51)S regarding "Extracellular RNA Biomarkers" and was on the faculty for the 18th International Conference on Continuous Renal Replacement Therapies (CRRT 2013) held in San Diego, CA.
- Dr. Nisha Bansal has a first author paper in Circulation: Incident atrial fibrillation and risk of end-stage renal disease in adults with chronic kidney disease. 2013 Feb 5;127(5):569-74.



## Fellowship Program

- Dr. Elaine Ku has been awarded an American Kidney Fund Clinical Scientist in Nephrology fellowship for 2013-2015.
- Dr. Raymond Hsu has been chosen by the CTSI KL2 Selection Committee to receive a four-year KL2 Scholar award, effective July 1, 2013



## **Accomplishments and Awards**

- Danny Gonzales-Herrera, who works at the Nephrology and Hypertension Faculty Practice front desk, was recognized for exemplifying "outstanding customer service skills" by the newly launched UCSF Medical Center Front-Desk Peer Observations Project. His commendation said: "It was an absolute pleasure to observe how your caring attitudes and cheerfulness made each and every patient smile as they were checking in."
- ❖ Dr. David Pearce was elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP). AAP was founded in 1885 by Dr. William Osler and others. Its goals include the pursuit of medical knowledge, and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine. Each year, a small number of academic physicians, having attained excellence in achieving these goals, are recognized by nomination for membership.

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.