Nephrology Division Newsletter July - August 2017



Announcements

- We welcome Divya Seth, Dr. Elaine Ku's new Assistant CRC, who start on 07/05/17. Divya is also a UC-Berkeley student pursuing her Bachelors in Molecular Cell Biology.
- We also welcome Gabriel Garcia, the new CRC for the KTU, who started on 07/17/17. He will be assisting KTU faculty research initiatives, including Dr. Allison Webber's Shire clinical trial.
- Congratulations to Victoria Toussaint on her 10 years of service to UCSF and the Nephrology Division!
- Drs. Vanessa Grubbs and Delphine Tuot were both promoted to Associate Professors in Residence.



Fellowship Program

- Dr. Benjamin Lee has a first author paper published "Refining the Policy for Timing of Kidney Transplant Waitlist Qualification" Transplant Direct. 2017 Jul 11;3(8):e195.
- Dr. Chou-Long Huang, UCSF renal fellow 1992-1996 (Lily Jan lab), recently became Chief of Nephrology at University of Iowa.

Accomplishments and Awards

- The Latest U.S. News & World Report released its annual rankings of best hospitals in the United States. UCSF Medical Center is the fifth best hospital in the nation, the best hospital in California and the best hospital in the West. UCSF Nephrology ranked #5.
 https://www.ucsfhealth.org/news/2017/08/ucsf_medical_center_ranks_as_best_hospital_in_california.html. Thus, for the fourth consecutive year, Nephrology is the top (or tied for the top) specialty at UCSF.
- Kathleen Liu, MD, PhD successfully obtained a K24 (DK113381) "Advancing Acute Kidney Injury Phenotyping Using Biological and Clinical Criteria." She has also recent become a permanent member of NIH Pathobiology of Kidney Disease (PBKD) study section.
- **Dr. Carmen Peralta** received a Research Mentoring Award (2016-17) from Department of Medicine.
- Dr. Chi-yuan Hsu has received funding from Satellite Health & NIH (R21DK114213) for a pilot blood pressure clinical trial in hemodialysis patients.
- Dr. Raymond Hsu is PI of a new NIH grant (R03DK111881) "Clinical Outcomes After Dialysis-Requiring Acute Kidney Injury."

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.