## Nephrology Division Newsletter May - June 2018



## **Announcements**

- ❖ A very warm welcome to **Chia Lin (Julie) Yeh** who is now a Clinical Research Assistant with Nephrology Division under Meyeon Park, MD. She started May 2018.
- ❖ We wish a bright and successful future to **Salpi Siyahian** who left her CRC/Lab Manager position to do a little traveling before heading back to school. She will be missed dearly.
- Amanda Davis has been working in the Division of Nephrology through the temp pool and in June 2018 she became a full time Administrative Officer II. We are happy to have her join us permanently, assisting the KTU faculty.
- ❖ Thanks to all who participation on June 10<sup>th</sup> in our annual San Francisco NKF walk, team "UCSF Keepin' it Renal." UCSF was proud to be a sponsor and top fundraiser this year! Our walkers raised more than \$50,000 (out of \$226,000 total) for the National Kidney Foundation! It was a great show of support for the local kidney community and our patients.
- ❖ Kathleen Liu, MD, PhD has been named co-director of Medical ICU of UCSF Helen Deller Medical Center at Parnassus starting this coming academic year.



## **Fellowship Program**

- Drs John Sy and Benjamin Lee graduated on June 6th from the UCSF Training in Clinical Research Master's Degree Program.
- ❖ Dr. Adrian Whelan was named AJKDonline Editorial Intern.
- ❖ On June 27<sup>th</sup>, we celebrated the completion of fellowship for **Drs. Benjamin Lee, Diana Mina, Anthony Muiru, Thuy Nguyen, Harini Sarathy, John Sy (from general nephrology fellowship) and <b>Drs. Rohan Paul and Santhi Voora** (from transplant nephrology fellowship).
- ❖ At graduation, **Dr. Benjamin Lee** received recognition as the 2017-2018 "Andy I. Choi, MD Memorial Scholarship" recipient. Criteria for selection include: academic promise as well as embodiment of kindness and generosity which we all so appreciated in Andy. And **Dr. Lekha Tummalapalli** was chosen as the "Clinical Fellow of the Year" for renal by the UCSF internal medicine housestaff.
- Our 2018-2019 new first year ACGME fellows will be: Drs. Jon Amatruda, Camilo Cortesi, Chidinma Enyinna, Kazem Fallahzadeh Abarghoeui, Gabriel Loeb and Laalasa Varanasi. The two KTU fellows will be Drs. Yasir Alfi and Nicholas Herrera.



## **Accomplishments and Awards**

- ❖ **Dr. Anna Malkina** received a "Friends of Medicine: Enhancing Subspecialty Education in the Ambulatory Setting" grant from the Department of Medicine. She has also become Director of a new course "Comprehensive Apprenticeship in Nephrology" as part of a new Clinical Immersion Experience (CIEx) curriculum for 3<sup>rd</sup> year medical students.
- Congratulations to Noel Chow, Debbie Gilman, Brittany Logan, Cherie Ros, Victoria Toussaint, who received a SPOT Award to recognize and reward excellence in University service, significant achievements and contributions, and/or outstanding individual and team performance. A SPOT Award is a campus wide award that lets employees know that someone has noticed their noteworthy contribution.

- ❖ Dr. David Pearce successfully renewed his R01 DK056695 "SGK Regulation of Epithelial Sodium Transport".
- ❖ Dr. Mitchell Lunn was selected for the 2018 ASN/ ERA-EDTA Young Nephrologist Speaker Exchange and presented in Copenhagen in May 2018.
- ❖ Dr. Anthony Muiru was chosen to be one of the 2018 John A Watson Scholars by UCSF School of Medicine.

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.

For more news and updates, please follow us on Twitter @UCSFNephrology

.