Nephrology Department of Medicine Nephrology Division Newsletter May - June 2020

Announcements

• **Dennis Xiong,** our Admin Assistant III since 2019 and Mitch Lunn's assistant for 2 years before that, left UCSF as of June 30, 2020. We will miss Dennis and send him our best wishes for the future.

Fellowship Program

- Dr. Debbie Chen co-authored a commentary: "Should Renin-Angiotensin System Blockade be Avoided in Patients with Declining Kidney Function?" AJKD 2020 May 12. <u>https://doi.org/10.1053/j.ajkd.2020.04.003</u>
- Dr. Alex Dinh's co-authored editorial "Pre-transplant Dialysis Exposure and Outcomes After Kidney Transplantation – Where Quantity and Quality intersect?" was published. Am J Transplantation. 2020 May 14. <u>https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/ajt.16007</u>
- Dr. Sri Lekha Tummalapalli published: "Association of Cardiac Biomarkers with the Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease with Chronic Kidney Disease without Heart Failure" JAHA. 2020 June 24. <u>https://www.ahajournals.org/doi/10.1161/JAHA.119.014385</u>
- On June 24th, we celebrated the completion of the Nephrology fellowship for Drs. Camilo Cortesi, Chidinma Enyinna, Diana Kwong, Sri Lekha Tummalapalli, Laalasa Varanasi, and Adrian Whelan (from General Nephrology Fellowship) and Drs. Fadee Abu Al Rub and Faizan Ali Syed (from Transplant Nephrology Fellowship).
- At graduation, **Dr. Gabriel Loeb** received recognition as the 2017-2018 "Andy I. Choi, MD Memorial Scholarship" recipient. Criteria for selection include: academic promise as well as embodiment of kindness and generosity which we all so appreciated in Andy.
- **Dr. John Demko** was chosen as the "Clinical Fellow of the Year" for renal by the UCSF internal medicine housestaff.
- Our 2020-2021 new first-year ACGME fellows will be **Dr. Matthew Breeggemann, Alan Chao, Dana Larsen, Ashley Martinez, Sonny Nguyen, and Wahid Syed.** The two Kidney Transplant Fellows will be **Drs. Steven Han** and **Adrian Whelan.** Welcome to UCSF!

Accomplishments and Awards

• **Congrats to** Lowell Lo, MD **who was named a 2020 UCSF Dept of Medicine Master Clinician**. For the last 14 years, the UCSF Department of Medicine has honored 3-4 of our most esteemed clinical faculty with this title. Master clinicians are distinguished by their commitment to clinical medicine and their superb clinical skills. They are the "doctor's doctor."

- Anna Malkina, MD was accepted to the Teaching Scholars Program for 2020-2021.
- Dr. Elaine Ku received her 3rd R01 DK121904 "Acute Declines in Kidney Function During Blood Pressure Interventions in CKD."
- Congratulations to our Nephrology Division staff members **Kim Gorcyca, Cherie Ros, Victoria Toussaint, and Dennis Xiong** for receiving 2020 SPOT Awards. These awards recognize significant employee achievements and contributions for a specific project or task
- **Debbie Gilman** was the recipient of the 2020 Star Achievement Award, recognizing administrative staff for sustained, exceptional performance and significant contributions.

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.

For more news and updates, please follow us on Twitter @UCSFNephrology