

## Announcements

 We welcome to the Division Sabrina Legaspi who is a CRC working under Dr. Elaine Ku. She has a BA in Psychology and Sociology from the University of Portland and an MA in Psychology from San Francisco State University.

## Fellowship Program

- **Dr. Sana Shaikh** co-authored "Post-Transplant Thrombotic Microangiopathy due to a Pathogenic Mutation in Complement Factor I in a Patient with Membranouse Nephropathy: Case Report and Review of Literature." Front Immunol. 2022 May 26;13:909503. doi: 10.3389/fimmu.2022.909503.
- We celebrate the completion of the Nephrology fellowship for Drs. Jonathan Amatruda, Allen Chao,
  Debbie Chen, Dana Larsen, Sonny Nguyen, (from General Nephrology Fellowship) and Drs. Sana Shaikh,
  Tiffany Truong and Nikolaos Skartsis (from Transplant Nephrology Fellowship). At the graduation ceremony, Drs. Dana Larsen and Sonny Nguyen were recognized with Chief Fellows Certificates.
- Allen Chao, MD was awarded the Department of Medicine ACGME Clinical Fellow of the Year Award. Dr. Debbie Chen received recognition as the 2021-2022 "Andy I. Choi, MD Memorial Scholarship" recipient. And Dr. Sonny Nguyen received the first annual "Anitha Toke Memorial Scholarship."

## Accomplishments and Awards

- Congratulation to **Elaine Ku, MD** on her latest NIH grant "Reaching Equity in access to Home Dialysis and Re-Transplantation (REACH-DART)" (R01DK132271). She is currently (contact) PI for 4 R01's!
- Dr. Chi Chu successfully renewed his National Kidney Foundation Young Investigator Research Grant.
- **Anoop Sheshadri, MD** received a new RAP award from REAC for virtual assessments of physical performance in older adults pre-kidney transplantation.
- Congratulations to our 2022 SPOT Award Nephrology Division staff members recipients, Kim Gorcyca, Maribeth Ruperto, Victoria Toussaint and Nancy Tran. These awards recognize significant employee achievements and contributions for a specific project or task.
- **Debbie Gilman** was the recipient of the 2021 Star Achievement Award, recognizing administrative staff for sustained, exceptional performance and significant contributions and demonstrated commitment to the Chancellor's goals and UCSF's PRIDE values.
- Congrats to **Alexandra Velasquez** for winning one of the two very competitive 2022 Spirit of DOM awards. The award acknowledges staff members and NFAs who exemplify the UCSF PRIDE Values and make the DOM and UCSF a better place to work.

• Leticia Rolon, MD received a Holly Smith Award for Exceptional Service to the School of Medicine (for faculty with 5-10 years of service). She was recognized for her passion for medical education and making "tremendous difference in the training and professional development of UCSF students, residents, and fellows."

Congratulations to all our award-winning faculty, fellows and staff.

For more news and updates, please follow us on Twitter @UCSFNephrology